Ticket #910 (assigned enhancement)

Opened 5 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

Refactor directories used to store user content

Reported by: BrianKoontz Owned by: BrianKoontz
Priority: highest Milestone: 1.4
Component: core Version: 1.1.6.7
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc:

Description (last modified by BrianKoontz) (diff)

During upgrades, user-modified content (theme plugins, custom actions, customized menus, etc.) should never be modified. DarTar suggests the following directory structure to contain all present and future directories containing user-modified content:

content/
....config/
....plugins/
........actions/
........formatters/
........handlers/
........templates/
....uploads/
....<future or user-specified directories>

Related tickets

  • #1011 Back up files in config directory

Change History

  Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

  • priority changed from high to highest

  Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

  • milestone changed from 1.3 to blue-sky

follow-up: ↓ 7   Changed 4 years ago by DarTar

As of 1.2-p1, users are storing menu settings in /config As a consequence an upgrade to 1.3 will override custom menus settings.

  Changed 4 years ago by DarTar

  • milestone changed from blue-sky to 1.3

I am temporarily reverting the milestone to 1.3 as we need to make a decision about the point above before releasing.

  Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

I suggest one of two approaches:

  • Advise users to backup their config directory before upgrading;
  • Have the installer make a backup of all files in /config. Instructions to convert back to the original menus would be included in installation docs.

  Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

(Recap of IRC discussion between Brian and Dario)

It would appear the safest approach is to implement the new dir structure in 1.3, and make 1.3 backwards compatible with the old directory structure. Include instructions in the release notes recommending a manual move of X dirs in old structure to the new "content" directory.

Moving files is implemented differently on different O/Ses, and it would be dangerous for the installer to move files on an existing installation.

in reply to: ↑ 3   Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

Replying to DarTar:

As of 1.2-p1, users are storing menu settings in /config As a consequence an upgrade to 1.3 will override custom menus settings.

For 1.3, we could simply backup the existing menu settings (either copy them to new filenames, or copy them to the new content/config dir). Either way, we'll have to be sure to mention this in the release notes.

  Changed 4 years ago by BrianKoontz

  • owner changed from unassigned to BrianKoontz
  • status changed from new to assigned
  • description modified (diff)
  • milestone changed from 1.3 to 1.4

Backup of config/ files during upgrades is addressed in #1011. The remainder of this ticket will be addressed in 1.4.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.